Travels With My Greek – III

There hasn’t been much posted here for a couple of weeks because I have been away on holiday.

Our April trip to Egypt was such a success that we went back again for another week on the Nile: weather, archaeology and people all splendid, as expected.

There was one tiny piece of Greek content for me to share with you. Like our last trip we saw graffiti in plenty of places but here is a Greek inscription from the Hypostyle Hall at Karnak.

DSC00532.jpg

At the top of the hieroglyphic cartouche (the name of Rameses II), a Greek – it looks like Ευστράτιος Καραμαλάκης – has added his name and the date 1880.

Nice to find myself among earlier tourists who have obviously been impressed by what they saw! (and thanks to Τόνια Ταβλά for helping me work out what this was)

Leave a comment